Estonian Scammer #3

[This is a new one. The guy avoids being caught by Ebay by using a generic question to get my email but then proceeds to saying he needs a “money manager” and then he offers to send money to paypal if I moneygram it back. The catch is of course the accounts are stolen. I learned Paypal has no balls when I called up and asked may I accept the funds and then return them and call you up. NO they responded, then you are getting involved with them. …Really…. This is as bad as their chargeback policy!]
I hope scammer’s emais show up in the websearch from my blog and that can prevent at least one more scam victim.

Subject: You’ve received a question about your eBay item, Sony Vaio VhGN-NR110E/S T2310 Dual Core 120GB New
From: “eBay Member: thegrande18” <member@ebay.com>
Date: Mon, November 26, 2007 7:13 am
To: **********************.edu
Priority: Normal
Options: View Full Header | View Printable Version

…..

Dear ****************,

Can you use paypal?<br/>

-thegrande18
……

> Dear thegrande18,
>
> yes i accept paypal
> <br/>
> <br/>-thanks, ******<br/>

[out of nowhere this email arrives]

Subject: Re: You’ve received an answer to your question about item Sony Vaio VGN-NR110E/S T2310 Dual Core 120GB New
From: “Dmity Gor” <hopwinz7@yahoo.com>
Date: Tue, November 27, 2007 7:51 am
To: **********************.edu
Priority: Normal
Options: View Full Header | View Printable Version

This email is not about your item.

Our company selling laptops from Europe (Estonia).
We can’t use paypal in Estonia and we are looking for
a money exchange manager. Our buyers will send you
money through Paypal and you will resend us our part.
We will pay you 300 USD for each transfer + all fees.
Do you want to work with us?

[I responded]

>> Yes if you could explain that a little better? May I
>> also have a company
>> photo id or passport? I have quite a lot of these
>> computers shipment and
>> could send a batch if we could work in bulk.
>>
>>
>> Thanks,
>> ******

[His explaination of the scheme follows]

> We are estonian laptop’s shop.
> Here is people not so reach as in USA and all
> electronics cost much less.
> We are selling laptops to USA. Our web-site is
> http://www.laptop.com.ua and sometimes we are selling trough
> eBay.
>
> Here is details.
> Our buyers will send money to your paypal account. You
> withdraw money from your paypal account.
> Then you deduct from payment your part $300 and all
> fees. Then send our part to us trough Moneygram.
>
> If you agree then we need to know your full name and
> paypal email.

Subject: Re: You’ve received an answer to your question about item Sony Vaio VGN-NR110E/S T2310 Dual Core 120GB New
From: **********************.edu
Date: Wed, November 28, 2007 9:07 am
To: “Dmity Gor” <hopwinz7@yahoo.com>
Priority: Normal
Mailer: SquirrelMail/1.4.6-1
Options: View Full Header | View Printable Version

My name is ****** *******. It sounds promising and I am interested. Could
you give me your paypal account first as I’m little bit hesitant of giving
mine out first. I could also deposit a dollar in your account just to make
sure this is real :).

Can you explain, this to me. Like am I right with this assertion? You
deposit 300 in my account and I send something like $275 to you? If it
would be mutually beneficial we could do this for even more money.

Thanks,
******

Subject: Re: You’ve received an answer to your question about item Sony Vaio VGN-NR110E/S T2310 Dual Core 120GB New
From: **********************.edu
Date: Wed, November 28, 2007 12:56 pm
To: “Dmity Gor” <hopwinz7@yahoo.com>
Priority: Normal
Mailer: SquirrelMail/1.4.6-1
Options: View Full Header | View Printable Version

My paypal account is [some poor saps email with my first name oh well]

My mail closed on me, so I may have sent this twice! Yes that is
absolutely fantastic! My paypal email is actually a business accBeount too
so it should not have problems with being a personal account. I’ll let you
know first thing when buyers send payment and send out a moneygram as soon
as paypal money arrives. $300 a transaction Jesus Christ this is awesome
man!!!!

God Bless,
******

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Estonian Scammer #3”

  1. Nano Jolly Says:

    I would like to say thanks to you mojo for taking the time to put this online because it saved me alot. I was, like you, excited about this possible business that we were going to do together only when I thought about a couple of things. This became very “fishy” to me. After typing in his email address I ran into this warning. You are awesome for posting this. Thanks

  2. mojo35 Says:

    I knew it was a sham of some kind but was confused as to how it worked. I got this email after I tried selling a laptop, 2 times a stolen ebay account and I had to relist, on the 3rd relist this person contacts me with the Estonia “deal”. I also played with the 2 other ebay scammers. It is known as scambaiting.

    I had to find the explanation by web searching. The trick is they own a hijacked paypal account they may have obtained by keylogger or bad password, they wire you money with stolen funds, you send them a moneygram or other form of payment and then Paypal will take the stolen funds out of your account when the owner politely calls ebay up to say I DIDN’T AUTHORIZE THIS! Thats the thing about being in possession of stolen property.

    I’m very glad that you didn’t lose money and appreciated knowing I helped you out. Also, unless you are in possessions of firearms, have a competent dog/security system, and also a cell phone, I do not recommend responding or toying with these people since they can get your address if ebay sends them the information.

    What you can do is forward the email this person sent to you to abuse@yahoo.com with full headers.

    Hope this helps

  3. j Manley Says:

    Unfortunately i di not have the forsight to type estonian ebay scams into google, they wired 929 us which froze my ebay and all previous money wires from legitamite companies, delayed shipping, and generated 125 dollars in insufficient fund fees to my bank because i put in a transfer of funds back from my account to paypal for 500 dollars right after i transferred from paypal the 929 so although they froze the 929, they didnt freeze the transfer request so it keeps hitting my account (bank) like a hot check.even after refunding the money and providing tracking # for EVERY transaction i ever made, and i have a perfect ebay score, they (paypal) informed will they will not cancel the 500$ transfer of funds request and that it will hit my account as if generated new every 3 days forever until i put 500 dollars in my account! All this happened over christmas and newyears, ruining the holidays and stranding my family in the mountains with no money, a 56k modem connection and a VERY uncooperative paypal..I called 9 times in 4 days, never helped…the email up there is the same exact estonian email word for word…I have uploaded all the email to ebay and paypal and they seem quite uninterested, sending me back replies like what is the transaction and what is the email, when its clearly l;isted in the emails…ebay even told me generically thanks for my concern and if i had a problem, here is how to change my password??????UNREAL!!!

  4. mojo35 Says:

    To avoid being stuck on the phone use this webpage for fastest way to get assistance http://gethuman.com and find Paypal. You may just need to speak to the right person. Also, the more you call them unprofitable is it not to address the issue. I would fess up the situation and say you thought it was a legitimate offer for you to accept funds here and then send them money not realizing it was a trick, but since they caught the problem could they restore your account and remove any fees.

    I’ve actually had good luck with Paypal, just when I wanted to do a social good they didn’t want me to get involved. Now that I think of it, it is a good policy. It is just when there are scammers or bad ebayers there is trouble.

    The good news (or so it seems) is you didn’t send them payment which would add insult to injury.

    Again, forward the email this person sent to you to abuse@yahoo.com with full headers.

Leave a Reply

